Things are getting more complicated, what’s wrong with Rumi-sensei?

01
01 (Cover)

One eye is artificial — Anokata’s closest confidant — RUM!!

02
02
  • K: I was able to grasp the situation with one eye…
  • K: It is okay to…
  • K: Call the police?
  • K: Wakasa Rumi-sensei
  • A: Sensei… Sensei?
  • A: Wakasa-sensei!!
  • [Their confrontation has some inner meaning!!]
03
03
  • R: A!
  • R: What happened, Yoshida-san?
  • A: The ojisan with the scary face asked you something, sensei!
  • A: ‘Can we call the police?’…
  • R: The tent was burned down, and it was probably arson…
  • R: Someone was burned alive…
  • R: I think it’s reasonable to call the police…
  • R: But why are you asking me?
  • K: Well… you shot a scary glare my way…
  • K: I figured that you might not be okay with it…
  • K: Though people tend to look away when faced with such a scary expression…
  • K: It’s pretty rare for someone to stare right back.
  • R: I see…
  • [Her…]
04
04
  • [Her right eye can’t see?!]
  • C: Speaking of it, during Wakasa-sensei’s first introduction, when she first became assistant homeroom teacher…
  • C: She hit her head on the teacher’s desk…
  • C: Same deal with the old warehouse’s basement door…
  • C: She hit her head again…
  • C: I’m starting to think…
  • C: That maybe she’s just pretending to be a clumsy teacher in order to throw us off her track…
  • C: But if she wasn’t doing that on purpose…
05
05
  • [Sorry, Yuminaga…]
  • K: I was not sure whom to call – you or Megure from the 1st division…
  • Y: No-mo, Superintendent Kuroda… When it comes to fire – that’s my division!
  • K: And? How is it?
  • Y: Looks like the fire started because…
  • Y: Of the candle used in the lantern…
  • Y: And all the other candles that are scattered nearby…
  • Y: Melted and became sloppy…
  • Y: This candle fell and started a fire with either manga book or the clothing, it spread momentarily…
  • Y: And it looks like the victim who was sitting and sleeping at that chair was caught by the fire and burned down…
  • Y: Victim also drank a lot of sake so it seems…
06
06
  • Y: The zipper on the tent’s entrance looked like this…
  • Y: Looks like it was closed properly and even had a lock on it…
  • K: It doesn’t seem like foul play…
  • Y: Yeah… it was probably an accident…
  • C: But don’t you think that’s strange?~
  • C: Look, among the melted candles…
  • C: There’s a thin bamboo stick, right?
  • Y: Yeah, that’s probably…
  • Y: A bamboo skewer for the dango…
  • Y: That the victim had as a side-dish…
07
07
  • Y: So Conan-kun was also at this place, huh…
  • K: Hoo… You know him?
  • K: Sleeping Kogoro’s bag of wisdom…
  • Y: Yeah… his wits helped me before…
  • C: Besides…
  • C: If you look closely at the melted and hardened candles…
  • C: There is…
  • C: A candle with a hole inside of it…
  • C: And on the front cover of the magazine that lies next to the laptop…
  • C: Somehow there’s a burnt mark that looks like V letter, right?
  • C: Could it mean that somebody planned it?
  • Y: I see…
  • K: That means it’s somebody…
  • K: Who went to the victim’s tent by turns…
08
08
  • K: The three of you, right?
  • K: The first one who told us her name was Furuoka Midori-san…
  • K: Then Ashizawa Sumito-san…
  • K: And the last one was… Danno Kuninori-san, right?
  • R: Ah… you were sleeping in the tent and yet know the order in which we introduced ourselves?
  • K: No, truth be told…
  • K: While I was dozing off, I saw you through the gap in the entrance to my tent…
  • K: It seemed like you had fun eating curry…
09
09
  • R: Were you interested in somebody specifically?
  • K: No… with no particular reason…
  • K: So, my tent was next to the burnt tent…
  • K: So I was able to remember faces and an order of people who faced this way…
  • K: But because I had earplugs…
  • K: I didn’t know what they three were talking about with the victim…
  • R: And then… you went to sleep?
  • R: Could it be that you, in order to observe somebody that interested you…
  • R: Ignored the tent next to you, that was wrapped in the hell fire?
  • K: No, I just fell to sleep by mistake…
  • K: Besides, I let myself think that nothing serious could happen while accompanied by the elementary school teacher…
  • R: Do you know of me?
  • K: I saw you on news…
  • Y: This person is a teacher…
  • C: She’s assistant home teacher of my class…
  • K: Well then, how about…
  • K: You’ll tell me one by one about what you talked to the victim?
10
10
  • K: The one who went to victim’s tent first was…
  • K: Furuoka-san…
  • M: Y-Yes!
  • M: When I went to Urushubara-kun, he was completely drunk…
  • M: And when I tried to start a conversation, he shouted ‘shut up, go away’…
  • M: We didn’t have a decent conversation…
  • K: At that point of time, was the light inside the tent on?
  • M: Yes… although it was still bright… he told that he’ll read manga and then will go to sleep…
  • Y: But that much candles inside of the tent… What’s about it?
  • Y: I think that was too much…
  • M: Yeah, he was responsible for matches and candles…
  • C: Then was Urushibara-san also responsible for a lot of manga volumes?
  • M: Those were mine…
  • M: Urushibara-kun said he wanted to read while camping…
  • M: But… that happened… I wish I dragged him out of this tent by force…
  • M: Like… ‘stop reading manga, let’s go and eat curry with us’…
11
11
  • A: When I went there…
  • A: No matter how much I tried to talk to him, he didn’t answer…
  • A: At first I thought he was just ignoring me…
  • A: But then Furuoka-san said… that he’s probably drunk and sleeping.
  • A: He… doesn’t wake up when he’s drunk, so…
  • A: I mean, we even used to draw on his face back at the training camp, for example…
  • K: And the light in the tent?
  • A: I don’t think it was on…
  • A: Ah, but when I was leaving…
  • A: Suddenly the light turned on…
  • A: And he started doing squats inside of his tent!
  • K: Squats?
  • A: He always does that before going to sleep…
  • G: Right! We saw that too!
12
12
  • G: He put his hands like so…
  • M: And did knee bends!
  • A: It was shown by his shadow in the tent!
  • K: Hoo…
  • Y: If that’s true, that means the victim was still awake at this point…
  • K: Yeah…
  • K: Which means the last one who visited victim’s tent…
  • D: Oi-oi, I didn’t put Urushibara’s tent on fire!!
  • D: When I went to him, trying to lure him with the smell of curry…
  • D: Just like with Ashizawa, he didn’t answer anything!!
  • D: Even though I tried to speak to him, he ignored me and kept doing squats…
  • D: I thought he was listening to the music, while doing it, but….
  • D: Now that I think of it, he probably heard my voice…
  • D: He… as if saying ‘go out’…
13
13
  • D: His movements while he was doing squats gradually became kind of harsher…
  • C: Gradually… Movements became harsher?
  • Y: And why the victim, Urushibara-san, refused to eat curry with everybody and secluded in his tent?
  • D: We had a small quarrel…
  • D: A lot of happened between me and him…
  • C: Hey…
  • C: Is it true that Danno-san is former basketball ace?
  • M: Yes!
  • M: With his height he was able to do dunk shoots…
  • M: He was a player that was noticed by professionals…
  • A: But he was injured by Urushibara at the training…
  • A: If it were not of that damaged right eye…
14
14
  • A: He’d probably be taken at the foreign team…
  • A: Well, ironically, thanks to that injury,
  • A: I was promoted from reserve player to starter and now people call me ace…
  • A: Manager, Furuoka-san, started to spend more time together with Danno, who quit being a player…
  • A: And they started dating…
  • M: Y-yes…
  • A: Danno was always surrounded by the fangirls…
  • A: But when he became manager, they all disappeared.
  • P: Yuminaga-keibu!
  • P: You were interested in the taping around victim’s both hands’ fingers…
  • P: The surface was burnt to the crisp, but the other side survived due to the adherend, so we tried to untie it…
  • C: Eh?
  • P: Looks like there’s no set ups in here…
  • Y: I see…
15
15
  • C: Show me that photo real quick!!
  • C: What? As I remember, this person was…
  • Y: Oi, boy… Did you think of something again?
  • C: Yes, but it seems I was wrong…
  • C: Oi, you lot… Urushibara-san surely was…
  • C: Damn… they completely lost interest in the case and are just messing around…
  • A: Finished~
  • C: Geez, what are you…
  • A: Sensei told us how to do it…
  • M: We made it out of the acorns!
16
16
  • A: Acorn balance toy!!
  • C: I see! This!
  • C: The criminal used this!
  • C: Before our very eyes…
  • C: They started the fire!!

 

Slide Note : Conan understood the truth behind the fire incident at the camp! Wakasa-sensei is snickering, what in the world… Next issue – the resolution!!

Text Translation by : Yunnie Chan (Source)